Citrus Bundt Cake

Image

I bought some delicious, tart oranges from our wholeshare group. Called minneolas and grown in California, they looked like regular oranges until we tried to eat them like a regular orange. Much more tart, almost lemony, and very juicy, I decided they would be perfect for baking.

I wanted a spring time bundt cake with icing, with a citrus undertone. This cake came out a bit too dense, and I’m going to be working on the recipe to make it a little more light. I suspect I went too heavy on flour, and perhaps not enough sugar or liquid ingredients.

Image

Here is my late March table setting, in anticipation of our monthly family dinner. Creating traditions such as this is such an important part of raising my children. I am often reminded of visits to my own grandmother’s house growing up, and how much I looked forward to them.

Image

Ingredients:

3/4 Cup millet flour
3/4 Cup potato starch
3/4 Cup tapioca flour
1/4 Cup sorghum flour
1/2 Teaspoon xanthum gum
1 Teaspoon baking powder
1/2 Teaspoon baking soda
1/2 Teaspoon salt
3/4 Cup Sugar
1/3 Cup coconut oil, melted
2 Tablespoons flaxmeal, soaked in 6 tablespoons rice milk
Zest of one orange (I used my minneolas)
Juice of 1 orange, approximately 1/4 cup
3/4 Cup coconut milk

Icing Ingredients:
1 Tablespoon melted coconut oil
About 1/2 cup of confectioner’s sugar
1-2 Tablespoons fresh squeezed orange juice
Pinch of turmeric for color (optional)

Directions:
Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease a bundt pan using extra coconut oil, and dust with extra millet flour. Wash an organic orange, then roll it on the counter to help release it’s juices. Zest and juice the orange. Whenever I use zest, I make sure that I use organic fruit that has no wax on it.
Combine the flours and starch, xanthum gum, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Combine the freshly squeezed orange juice and coconut milk in a mixing cup, measuring it to 1 cup.
In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix the coconut oil, sugar, and soaked flaxmeal until combined. Alternate adding flour and liquid to the electric mixer, until a nice batter forms.  Lastly, add your orange zest and fold in.
Pour batter into well greased bundt pan. Bake in oven for 50 minutes. Remove from heat, and allow to cool for 10-15 minutes before turning over and releasing cake. Allow to cool completely.

Icing the cake: Combine all the ingredients by hand. Use one tablespoon of the juice at a time until you get the right consistency.  Spoon carefully and evenly over cake. Some will drip off cake onto surface, I recommend icing on a plate, not your counter!

Image

2 thoughts on “Citrus Bundt Cake

  1. Sharon NDiaye

    Love your traditions and beautiful place settings!! Can’t wait to try the recipe, too!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Reply

Leave a Reply

