Pantry Minestrone Soup – Simple and Kid Friendly

Image

I had to write this down while I remembered what I threw together… My son LOVES this soup so much, and I want to make sure I get it right next time I make it. In the background is another variation of my homemade allergy friendly bread! I used 3 tablespoons cocoa flour and topped it in rolled oats. Love the look! Flavor was pretty much the same as usual. Love homemade bread with soup!

Ingredients:
Half a box of Gluten Free Elbow Pasta
1 10 oz box frozen mixed vegetables
Reserve 1 Cup water
1 Can cannellini beans
3/4 Cup (ish) tomato basil sauce (I used Classico)
Enough homemade (or organic) chicken broth to cover all ingredients
Splash Extra Virgin Olive Oil
Dash each salt, pepper, and nutritional yeast (to taste)

Directions:
Boil in the same pot the elbow pasta and the frozen mixed vegetables, approximately 7 minutes. Drain, reserving 1 cup of cooking water. Drain and rinse the beans. Add cannellini beans, then add enough broth to cover all the food. Add the tomato sauce, olive oil, and seasonings by eye. Stir and simmer about another minute. Serve to yourself and kids for a warm early spring pantry meal that you can throw together last minute!

Leave a Reply

