Raisin Bread, Gluten Free, Egg Free, Dairy Free

Raisin Bread - GF Egg Free Dairy Free ::cooking for allergies.wordpress.com

I’m so happy with my newest bread – Raisin bread! It’s an easy variation from my regular bread post. Basically, I add cinnamon, raisins, and cocoa powder to my regular recipe. The cocoa powder gives the bread a really nice color, kind of like the color of whole wheat bread. Since I’m only using 2 tablespoons of added cocoa powder to the recipe, doesn’t give much chocolate flavor, more of an undertone. I also used brown sugar for more sweetness, and to also make the color darker.

Raisin Bread - GF Egg Free Dairy Free ::cooking for allergies.wordpress.com

We really enjoyed this bread with a spread of Earth Balance, and quince paste. The quince paste was a special order from my sister in law who is living in Barcelona. When at first I asked her to find the remarkably good jelly that goes with manchego cheese (back when I was eating dairy, and on my honeymoon), she couldn’t find it! Finally, we figured out that it is quince jam. Once we knew what it was made out of, finding it was easy. For Christmas this year, she thoughtfully gave me a collection of jams! There is a wide range of colors, from light peachy-pink to deep purplish pink. Our favorite so far is this mid-tone peachy one.
Raisin Bread - GF Egg Free Dairy Free ::cooking for allergies.wordpress.com

Ingredients:

Dry:
1 1/2 cups millet flour
1/2 cup teff flour
1 cup sorghum flour
2 cups potato starch
1 cup tapioca flour
2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
1 Tablespoon cinnamon
4 tsp xanthan gum
1 Tbsp salt
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 Tbsp active dry yeast

Wet:
4 tsp olive oil or grape seed oil
3 1/2 cup warm water (not hot)

Add In:
1 Cup raisins

Coconut oil for greasing pans

Directions:
Mix the dry ingredients in an electric mixer with the paddle attachment.
mixerwhat dough looks likeOnce you’ve blended your dry ingredients in your mixer, it’s time to add the oil and warm water. It’s important that it’s not too hot that it kills the yeast! Gently fold in your raisins last.

Grease your loaf pans. I like coconut oil. What I have discovered is that if I heavily grease the loaf pans with coconut oil, the edges of the gluten free bread gets a little bit crustier. I like that! Put half the dough in each loaf pan.

Technique for rising bread: Microwave a small amount of water until boiling.  Leave the cup of water in the microwave, and place your bread in there with the door closed for approximately 1 hour. You may have to take out the plate in your microwave to get 2 pans to fit. You can also allow your bread to rise by placing it on a warm surface with a kitchen towel covering it.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Bake uncovered for 10 minutes. Put foil over the top and continue to bake for 50 minutes. Test with a wooden toothpick. I have variation in my done times for reasons I cannot yet figure out.

Cool and enjoy! It’s best to wait until it’s cooled significantly before slicing.

Leave a Reply

