Chocolate Chip Cookies with Garbanzo Bean Flour

Image

It’s been a cold, snowy beginning to February and my two preschoolers have missed a bunch of school this winter due to snow days. When our public school is cancelled or has a delayed opening, our morning sessions have been canceled. Which is too bad! They miss their preschool and seeing all their friends. I’ve been experimenting with some baking techniques to make everyone happy. I had bought garbanzo bean flour at the beginning of my gluten free journey and pretty much forgot about it. When cleaning out my cabinets, I thought, I have to use this! It’s high in protein and seems to be versatile. I made two things with garbanzo bean flour today. One was supposed to be a simple garbanzo bean flour crepe, but mine came out more like a cross between a cake and a falafel! Well, I won’t be sharing that recipe – yet! Definitely needs help. My new recipe for cookies came out great! Juliana said it’s “the best cookie ever!” Woo hoo! I used left over rolled oats from breakfast that were already cooked.  I have to try this again using dry oats to see if the proportions need to be changed!

Image

Ingredients:
1/2-3/4 Cup cooked rolled oats, prepared with water according to package directions
3/4 Cup garbanzo bean flour
3/4 Cup brown rice flour
1/2 Teaspoon xanthum gum
1/2 Teaspoon baking soda
1/2 Teaspoon baking powder
1/2 Teaspoon salt
1 Cup sugar
1/2 Cup melted coconut oil
2 Flax eggs (I make mine with 2 tablespoons flaxmeal and 6 tablespoons rice milk, soak for 5-10 minutes)
2 Teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 Cup dairy free chocolate chips
1/4 Cup shredded coconut
1/4 Cup pepitas

Directions:
Preheat oven 350 degrees. In the bowl of an electric mixer, mix together the cooked rolled oats and the dry ingredients. Add melted coconut oil, flax eggs, and vanilla extract, and mix until well combined. Add chocolate chips, shredded coconuts and pepitas last. Or substitute your own favorite mix in’s!
Scoop dough about teaspoon size onto parchment lined cookie sheets. Bake 13-15 minutes until bottoms are slightly browned. Cool briefly and enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

