Game Day Menu with Chili Con Queso, Dairy Free

chili con quesoWe don’t watch the Super Bowl in my home. Shocking! It wasn’t until last week that I even had any idea of football on my radar. So many people do watch the Super Bowl that it’s almost like a holiday. A day that has it’s own food culture. I’ve also recently become more aware of how limiting being dairy free is. I don’t miss cheese like I thought I would, but up until this point, I haven’t tried to make many meals with a cheese substitute. I like my dairy free lasagne made with cauliflower/tofu sauce, but there isn’t anything ooey or gooey about it.

I recently learned about Daiya cheese products. This is something I would consider a specialty item, and not something I would buy very often. Except that my son who can’t eat cheese LOVED it! So now I might have to buy it more often! I’m happy that he has a new food that he can add to his available options. It’s easy for me to just cut it up and give it to him. Although it’s not what I would consider a “whole food”, and has a few ingredients that I find iffy. I approve of Daiya cheese only as an occasional treat.

I was inspired by this web site to make my own Chili Con Queso with beef. The original recipe is from a vegan site, so I hope they aren’t too offended by my inclusion of ground beef.

Ingredients:
Olive Oil,
Half a medium size onion, diced
Half pound of ground beef
1 Tablespoon smoked paprika
1 Tablespoon cumin
1 Tablespoon chili poweder
3/4 C gluten free beer (I used homebrewed sorghum beer)
1 Package Daiya Havarti Wedge with jalapeño and garlic, cubed
Half Package of Daiya Cheddar Wedge, cubed
3/4 Cup Salsa
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Saute beef and onions with a splash of olive oil on medium heat. Seaon meat with paprika, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper. Break up ground beef into small pieces. Once onions are transparent and meat is cooked, add the gluten free beer and simmer about 5 minutes. Turning heat to low, add diced Daiya cheese and stir until all cheese is melted. Do not over cook. Stir in salsa last. Done!

This dish was best served right away after making. It is warm and gooey. Just right! Eat with chips, or makes a fantastic sauce for hot dogs or sliders too! I even made it into a quesadilla the next day! When reheating it, avoid using the microwave. I microwaved it, and a bit of separation occurred.

We made a lot of other food for Family Dinner night, all Mexican themed, and all that would be great for a game day, too, if you are so inclined. We made salsa verde using beautiful, large tomatillos from a farmer’s market.
me cooking

produce
Margaritas using Wildtree organic agave mix:
agave margarita mixer
Kimmy’s Mexican Chicken Soup:
kim seasoning
Fresh guacamole:
guacamole
guac 2

And next day quesadilla:
quadadilla

Photography: I was away at my sister’s house spontaneously for Sunday dinner. It wasn’t planned, and my Canon DSLR was not charged. I decided to see how pictures turned out using my iPhone. Although not the best, with a little bit of TLC using Photoshop, I don’t mind these pictures at all.

Leave a Reply

