Millet & Split Pea Soup, Vegan

soup
Hulled Millet and Millet flour look deceivingly similar when online shopping! An entire case of hulled millet arrived at my home. Not what I was expecting. Hulled millet are tiny balls, similar in size to quinoa. I was disappointed that they take longer to cook. Directions range from 25-40 minutes cooking time, and from my first try with these grains, the longer the better!

Hulled Millet

The millet arrived on a day when the high was 9 degrees here in New York State due to the “polar vortex”. I decided to try a millet split pea vegan soup and a millet raisin pudding. I have to say that the millet raisin pudding was not a success, and I’m going to try again in a different way. I used directions for millet pudding in a slow cooker, and it became very dry. I would have needed a few more cups of liquid, which is the main reason why it did not work.

Millet Split Pea Soup, Vegan

My millet split pea vegan soup, however, came out quite good, and thick! Again, I ended up needed a bit more liquid than I first imagined. Millet is a thirsty grain! I like this topped with gluten free croutons. Recipes below.

Gluten Free Croutons

Ingredients for Soup:
1 package yellow split peas, about 1 pound
1/2 C hulled millet
4 C low sodium veggie broth, plus more as needed
3 C water
2 Bay leaves
salt and pepper to taste
1 coarsely chopped, dried homegrown chili, or a dash of red pepper flakes
2 T Extra virgin olive oil

Directions for Soup:
Mix all ingredients in a large stock pot. Bring to a boil and simmer for 2- 3 hours. Check level of liquid every half hour. Mine thickened much quicker than I anticipated! I had to add a cup of water about an hour into cooking.
Remove bay leaves and use an immersion blender for a smooth consistency. Top with gluten free croutons!

Ingredients for Gluten Free Croutons:
Leftover Gluten Free Bread, recipe here, cut up into 1 inch squares, about 3-4 Cups
4 Tablespoons Olive Oil
1 Tablespoon garlic powder
1 Tablespoon each dried thyme and parsley
Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions for Gluten Free Croutons:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put all the ingredients in a large mixing bowl and toss to evenly coat the cubes of bread with the seasoning. Spread out on 2 baking sheets. Bake at 400 degrees for about 10 minutes. Turn cubes half way through to make crisp on both sides. Bake an additional 3-5 minutes for more crispy croutons.

Eating Split Pea Millet Soup, vegan Eating Split Pea Millet Soup, vegan

Leave a Reply

