Gluten Free Stuffing

Image

A couple weeks ago, with Thanksgiving coming up, I couldn’t imagine that I would have made such an easy stuffing for tomorrow’s big feast! I’m pretty thankful that I saved lots of my gluten free bread in the freezer. I didn’t have a plan for what I would do with it, it was mostly ends that I wouldn’t throw away, and I had been saving them since August. I thought about bread crumbs at first, but that is so boring. So this morning when I opened my freezer, to get some cornbread muffins out, I took out my saved bread ends too!

This recipe starts with cornbread muffins, that are excellent, although much too crumbly. They held their shape better as mini muffins than regular size muffins, mostly because with the mini ones, they popped in your mouth instead of taking a bit. So I made ahead of time a dozen crumbly corn muffins that I knew would become stuffing. I froze them on the sunday before Thanksgiving.

Corn Muffins:
Ingredients:
1 Cup Unsweetened rice milk or other non dairy milk
1 Tablespoon raw organic apple cider vinegar
2 Cups Cornmeal
1 Tablespoon Baking powder
1 Teaspoon Baking soda
1 Teaspoon Salt
2 Tablespoons Maple Syrup
1 Banana, mashed
1 Tablespoon Chia seeds
Coconut oil for greasing

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a muffin pan with coconut oil. Combine milk, apple cider vinegar, and chia seeds together. Set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine the rest of the ingredients. Add the liquid ingredients to the mixer and combine. Poor into muffin pan. Bake 23 minutes.

Now that you have muffins, you can let them cool and freeze them for future use, or use them now.

Stuffing Ingredients:

Leftover Cornbread muffins, cut into 1 inch pieces, 3-4 cups Leftover Gluten free bread, cut into 1 inch pieces, 3-4 cups
1 Large onion, diced
4-6 Stalks of celery, diced
2 Cloves garlic, minced
1 Cup of craisins (dried cranberries)
2 Tablespoons Extra virgin olive oil
2 Tablespoons Earth Balance
Salt and pepper to taste
2 Teaspoons dried thyme
1-2 Cups of low sodium chicken broth

Directions:

Preheat oven 350 degrees. Spread the cubes of bread and cornbread on baking sheets. Bake for 20-30 minutes, turning the pieces twice to prevent overcooking.
IMG_9207

In a large pan, cook onions, celery, garlic, olive oil and Earth Balance, salt, pepper, and thyme. It will seem like a lot of oils, but once it is mixed with the bread, it’s not a lot. Cook on medium low heat until the onions are translucent and the celery is tender, about 15 minutes.
IMG_9212
In a large mixing bowl, combine bread cubes, onion/celery mixture, chicken broth and craisins. Place in a 9 x 13 baking sheet and bake 30 minutes.IMG_9213
I am in love with my Christmas cactus’ that are blooming in the background of all of my pictures. They make my kitchen so joyful for this time of year!

Leave a Reply

