French Potimarron Squash

Image

I cooked this beautiful French Potimarron Squash a few weeks ago. Isn’t it beautiful? I bought it at the farmer’s market stand in Yorktown Heights, New York. There was a woman ahead of me who was buying one as a decorative squash for the fall, but the lady at the register told her this squash is more delicious than a sugar pumpkin and makes the best pie! I had to have one too! When it was my turn at the register, the lady, who was quite a bit older and very informative, claimed to know a group of Eberhardts from Vermont! I was surprised because my father in law was born there! Perhaps they are the same, but I don’t think I’ll ever know. It was quite an interesting conversation to say the least!

I cut the squash in half same as a regular pumpkin, avoiding the stem part. The stem just snapped right off. The seeds were especially large, and I scooped them out.

Image

I baked this squash in two 9×12 baking dishes, as each half filled one. Cut side down, with a splash of water on the bottom to steam the squash. Bake at 350 degrees for just over an hour. When a fork easily pierces the skin it is done. Allow to cool and then scoop out the flesh. The scooping was a great task for my kids to do! It was so soft, and they had fun. They taste tested it too!

Image

Image

If you are going to bake with it, I suggest letting the squash further drain of liquid by using a cheesecloth inside a colander and allowing the extra water to drip for about an hour. If you are more pressed for time, you can wrap the cooked squash in the cheesecloth, and squeeze the liquid out. Image
You don’t want all that water if you are making baked goods. If you are using the squash for a sauce or a curry, or just as a side, it’s totally fine as is. 

A note on the flavor: The potimarron squash has an excellent flavor, with a lot of depth. It is often described as a cross between a chestnut and a pumpkin. It was a huge hit with my children, and I used part of it to make mini muffins for a Halloween preschool class, which all the children loved! 
Image

Leave a Reply

