Meatloaf

Image
Yay for cool temperatures finally! I’m so excited to be baking almost every day now. I was tempted to make a meatloaf that my family would love, and of course be allergy-friendly. Without the eggs, it was a little challenging, but this one was a success! My daughter who is very picky finished all of hers! And my son, who is the allergic child, loved it too and came back for more. My husband was the only one who missed the egg at all, and I will try to use 2 tablespoons flaxmeal as my egg replacer next time.

Ingredients:
1lb ground beef
1 small onion
2 cloves garlic
Small bunch of fresh parsley
Approx 3/4 C of leftover basmati rice
1 tablespoon flaxmeal soaked in 3 tablespoons rice milk (or water)
1/2 C quinoa flakes
1/4 C coconut flour
sea salt and pepper to taste
grapeseed oil for oiling the loaf pan
Ketchup (optional) to spread on the top

Directions:
Combine the small onion, 2 cloves of garlic, and fresh parsley in a food processor until the onion is finely chopped. Add leftover rice and pulse a few times to break up the rice into slightly smaller pieces.
Image
In a large bowl, combine ground beef, mixture from food processor, soaked flaxmeal, quinoa flakes, coconut flour, salt and pepper, and mix by hand. It’s fun to get your hands in there! This step reminds me of a sensory processing project, but for adults!

Lightly grease a loaf pan with grapeseed oil (I also like to use coconut oil or olive oil). It looks so pretty in the loaf pan! I love that there is so much green in it!

Image
At this point, you can add the optional ketchup or tomato paste to the top of the meatloaf. I baked this at 350 degrees for 1 hour, with foil covering the top. If you get too much moisture in the pan, you can remove the foil for the last 10 minutes.  Don’t forget to bake some sweet potatoes too! Yum!

2 thoughts on “Meatloaf

Leave a Reply

