Pumpkin Muffins with hidden Sweet Potatoes and Coconut Icing

Image
It’s FALL!!! Yay! Although the forcast here says that it will be back to the 70’s for another week which is awesome. But I really want pumpkin now. Last night, I baked some huge organic yams. They were delish and I served them with shredded chicken and kale. I’m eating the leftovers now. Yum! I should have taken pictures, but we just ate it instead, so you’ll just have to trust me how good it was! Sorry!!!

I had leftover sweet potato and my wonderful darling daughter who will eat raw kale, won’t touch potatoes in any form! What?! I thought potatoes were kid food! So I thought, hey this is orange, that is orange! Why not mix the pumpkin and sweet potato together? I hope this works out ’cause I started typing while it’s baking, which means I haven’t tasted it yet!! I called the blog “Experiments” right?

I made coconut icing the other night, and my plan is to put the icing on the muffins. Here is a lesson. Icing with no margarine or butter kinda melts. It’s subject to the same temperature challenges that coconut oil has. I leave it in my fridge and it is solid! I put it out on the counter too long, it gets very soft. I think that 72 degrees is optimal for coconut icing! How finicky!

Ingredients for muffins:
1/2 C Millet Flour
1/2 C Potato Starch
2 Tbsp Teff Flour
1/2 C Sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp Xanthum gum
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 can of organic Pumpkin Pie Mix*
2 Tbsp Flaxmeal soaked in 6 Tbsp water
1 Tbsp Canola or other oil
Bonus: I added an unknown amount to sweet potato, guessing half a cup or more.

(As I’m typing this, the muffins are not setting, and I’m already over 25 minutes! I hope this works!)

Coconut Icing ingredients:
1/4 C Coconut Oil
16oz Powdered Sugar
4-6 Tbsp Rice Milk (or other milk alternative)
1 tsp Vanilla

Directions for Muffins:
Preheat over 350 degrees. Mix all of the dry ingredients together until fully blended. Add the flax meal and canola oil, then add the pumpkin and bonus sweet potato if you are doing that. Using a lined cupcake dish, fill all the way for 12 big muffins!

(As I’m typing this now, I’m over 35 minutes in the oven and I think that adding the sweet potato was too much wet ingredients!)

Directions for Icing:
Blend the coconut oil with the paddle attachment of an electric mixer until smooth and creamy. Add 3 Tbsp of the rice milk and 1 tsp of the vanilla and mix to combine. Slowly add the powdered sugar and up to 3 more Tbsp of rice milk until desired consistency. Use right away!

Results: I used too much wet ingredients by adding the sweet potato. The flavor is great! And the kids love it and don’t mind! So on the scale of kids willingness to eat it, it’s great! Next time I will make this differently. No muffin should take 40 minutes to set. Ideally, a muffin sets at 18-25 minute range.

IMG_6694
Action Shot

IMG_6699 IMG_6703 IMG_6717 IMG_6726

*I would have used just pumpkin and added my own spices, but the local health food chain that was going out of business had a huge amount of these cans, so I literally stocked up! The ingredients in pumpkin pie mix are (all organic) pumpkin puree, evaporated cane juice, cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and allspice. The brand is Farmer’s Market Foods.

One thought on “Pumpkin Muffins with hidden Sweet Potatoes and Coconut Icing

Leave a Reply

