Gluten Free Double Failure Day

Image

I was starting to think that this Gluten Free thing was a bit too easy.  I had already made slice-able bread, quick breads and muffins that were pleasing to eat. My husband whipped up some gluten free spaetzle on a whim and our guests liked it! We ran out it was so good! So what were people talking about on all these blogs about how hard going gluten free is? I was wondering, is it anything more than just the time commitment?

Then today happened! I’m making gluten free playdough for my son’s preschool class. In fact, I have a meeting with his teachers tomorrow. I thought wouldn’t it be great if I bring some homemade playdough with me before school begins so I can show them how great it will be? Minor oversight, I don’t have any rice flour! And I only have a tiny bit of millet flour left, which I didn’t want to waste on something not intended for eating. So I used my potato flour, which I already had doubts about. It semi-ruined a batch of bread I had made a month ago. But hey, this isn’t a delicate bread I thought, it’s just playdough. Boy was I wrong! This thing turned out to be a blue (from food coloring), squishy, sticky mess which didn’t keep its form and was a glob. Nothing I did fixed it! Juliana played with it for all of 5 minutes before her hands needed washing (SOOO sticky!) and she said “throw it out!”

Image

I needed to redeem myself! Surely Juliana would forgive the playdough disaster with a fresh pan of Quinoa Brownies! This was meant to be a gluten free awesome dessert with quinoa flakes baked in for a healthy punch! Can’t go wrong, right? Well I did several things wrong, mostly because I tried to take a favorite recipe from Smitten Kitchen and transform it to gluten, egg and dairy free all in one shot.  We ended up with gooey in the middle, crunchy on the edges, slightly wet all over and crumbly chocolate something. It tastes good, but I can honestly say it isn’t anything. We can’t even decide if you eat it with a spoon, fork, or your hands!

Image

Image

Image

What a day! Back to the drawing board, and lesson(s) learned!

3 thoughts on “Gluten Free Double Failure Day

  1. Gluten Free Fabulous

    I have those days sometimes too… I tried to make gluten free beignets for my family about 2 weeks ago, and failed horribly. On top of it, I made a huge mess and burned myself twice! Give it another go in a few days and hopefully it goes better.

    Reply
      1. Gluten Free Fabulous

        I haven’t gone in for a rematch vs them yet, this was about a week ago and I’m still a bit sore about the mess and the burns! I will soon 🙂 You’ll have to give another go on yours too!

Leave a Reply

