Tahini Miso Salad

I have to stop posting about baking, although I feel like it’s what I do best! So instead I’m going to post about a very delish little salad I made. I actually made it about 2 weeks ago, and I’m trying to catch up with all my favorite recipes. Being egg free, unfortunately, means no mayo! I grew up on macaroni salad, potato salad, and coleslaw in the summers! I’ve looked at the vegan mayo in Mrs Greens (local specialty health food store), but I haven’t been brave enough to try it! Plus I don’t want to over-do the amount of soy I feed my family. So I looked for some other alternatives.

I love tahini! I sort of forgot that I love it until I visited a friend’s house and she had the most delish tahini salad out. I ate more than my fair share! I had a hard time finding all the ingredients I wanted, but found what I wanted at Whole Foods. Oh yeah, did I mention the huge oversized yellow squash that we found at Lawrence Orchard Farms? 

Image

I shredded my red cabbage and my yellow squash (which I call a yellow zucchini!) in my Cuisinart food processor.  I love the size and texture that it came out. I used one of the disk blades with a smaller hole to achieve this size.

I also experimented with shredding half an organic green pepper* and some green onion the same way. The green pepper came out good, but was partially “juiced”. I may use a different attachment next time to see if I get different results.

Image

Next I toasted some sesame seeds. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees, and spread sesame seeds evenly on a baking sheet. Bake about 6-8 minutes. Check on them so none burn.

For the dressing, I mixed freshly grated ginger, freshly minced garlic, tahini, apple cider vinegar, grapeseed oil, honey, and yellow miso. Toss lightly and serve right away.

Summer Cabbage Salad:
Half a red cabbage, shredded small
1 Yellow squash (zucchini), shredded small
Green onion, cut small
Organic green pepper*, shredded or diced
3-4 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds.

Tahini Miso Dressing:
1 Tbsp freshly grated ginger
2 Cloves of freshly minced garlic (or 1 Large Clove, to your taste)
3 Tbsp mild yellow miso
2 Tbsp tahini
1Tbsp honey
1/8 C apple cider vinegar
3 Tbsp grapeseed or olive oil

Mix all ingredients and pour over salad! This dressing would be great over greens, with radishes, or with my cabbage and yellow zucchini salad I pictured above!

* I recommend organic peppers because peppers are part of the “Dirty Dozen” produce that is the most pesticide ridden when grown conventionally.

Leave a Reply

