Banana Oatmeal Muffins

We just got back from our late summer vacation. It was a great time on Long Beach Island in New Jersey. I’m from New Jersey; it’s a bit of a homecoming whenever I go! I love the sand, the crashing waves, the amusement park rides. Evidence of last year’s storm Sandy was everywhere. There were brand new board walks erected where one had been swept out to sea. The condo where we stayed had caution tape still on it’s own dock, torn, flapping in the wind. It felt good returning to the shore, I wanted to bring my tourist dollars there and help out an economy that meant something to me.

I had an easy and hard time navigating the waters of our newly diagnosed allergies on this trip. I wanted to eat out, of course, but also felt unsure, alittle bit embarrassed. It’s a long list of items we aren’t able to eat. Talking to the waitress about it and asking about substitutions on a menu can be intimidating when you’re not used to it. Calling ahead first helped a lot, and this will be my strategy going forward.

One of my favorite new specialty shops is Spice It Up in Beach Haven New Jersey. That’s where I found this awesome new food!

Image

Today we are back to life at home, settling in with a messy house and finding very little in the cabinets for food. Nathan and I had a long standing playdate for this morning, and I whipped up a new recipe at 8:30am while getting children dressed and ready to go!

Banana Oatmeal Muffins!
2C Old Fashioned Oats (make sure your oats are gluten free!)
1tsp Baking Powder
1tsp Baking Soda
1/2 tsp Salt
1 tsp cinnamon or more to taste
2 mashed Ripe Bananas
1/4C Melted Coconut Oil
1/4C Honey (use Agave syrup for Vegan)
1T Coconut Jam (if you can get it, makes a more rich flavor)
1t Chia seeds soaked and geled

Add Ins:
1/4C Raisins
1/4C Craisins (dried cranberries, my fav!)
1/4 C Sunflower seeds (roasted no shell)
1/4 C Shredded coconut.

Feel free to play with your add ins of choice, keeping it to about 1 C total.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease or line a regular muffin pan. Mix dry ingredients together. In the bowl of an electric mixer with the paddle attachment, combine coconut oil, honey, mashed bananas, and chia seeds. Add dry ingredients slowly until just incorporated. Add your add ins last. Makes 12 regular size muffins. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until a wooden toothpick comes out clean. Cool slightly and enjoy!
Image

I brought these to the playdate and many people asked me if there were walnuts in this! No! But the combo of sunflower seeds and coconut makes a pretty convincing substitute for walnuts, the flavor is similar. They were a hit with the moms and the kids.Image

Leave a Reply

