Chocolate Zucchini Bread

IMG_5295

IMG_5296

Late summer… one of the most wonderful parts of the late summer bounty is zucchini. We visited Lawrence Orchard Farms last week and brought home some BIG ones! For only $1 each, I wanted to buy them all! My husband and I settled on 4. What to do with all this zucchini? In my quest to create the best gluten, egg, and dairy free goodies that are (mostly) healthy and also delish, I got to work creating my own unique recipe that meets all of my family’s needs.

Makes 2 loaves. Preheat 350.

First I blended my own GF flour from the favorites, and made the proportions so that I would get 3 cups total.

3/4 Cup Millet Flour
1 Cup Potato Starch
1/2 Cup Sorghum Flour
1/2 Cup Tapioca Starch
1/4 Cup Teff Flour

You can mix a lot of flour ahead of time in this proportion so that you don’t have to think about it when you need it! Store pre-mixed flour in the refrigerator in a sealed glass jar to keep it the most fresh.

3 Cup GF flour
1 teaspoon salt
4 teaspoon Xanthum Gum
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 teaspoon cinnamon
3 Tablespoons flaxmeal soaked in 9 Tablespoons water (egg replacer for 3 eggs)
1 Cup Veg oil blend (I like coconut oil, grapeseed oil and/or organic canola oil)
1 1/2 Cup Sugar
3 teaspoons Vanilla extract
A LOT of shredded Zucchini ( this recipe can hold between 2-4 cups of zucchini, I used 4 this time!
3 Heaping Tablespoons cocoa powder
I Cup non dairy chocolate chips, I like Enjoy Life brand

Mix dry ingredients together (GF flour, salt, baking soda and powder, xanthum gum, cinnamon, cocoa powder). In the electric mixer, combine oils, sugar, soaked flaxmeal, vanilla. Add dry mix and zucchini to wet mix, alternating, until fully combined. Last add chocolate chips or add-in of choice.

Grease 2 loaf pans. Put half of the mixture in each pan, and bake for approximately 50 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick comes out clean.

Cool slightly, and enjoy!!
(we put non dairy ice cream on top while it was still warm!!)

IMG_5298

IMG_5301

Leave a Reply

