Allergy Friendly, Gluten Free Bread!

final productAfter about a day or two into the Gluten, Egg, Dairy, Nut and Apple Free diet, I got hungry.
Ok HUNGRY! Like how do people adjust to this and live through it hungry. Cheating on this diet isn’t an option for me since I’m nursing my son, who is close to 2 years old. So I knew I had to find food that would satisfy me. (Note to self, I’m going to blog about the benefits of nursing past 1 year and the benefits to nursing an allergic/celiac child to well beyond 1 or even 2!)

I started my frantic online search for a really good bread. There are a lot of gluten free flour mixtures commercially available right now, so if you like to keep things simple, they are great. I also want to cut out corn and soy, because of the threat of contamination from GMOs. My other requirement is to avoid over use of rice flours because of the levels of arsenic found in rice. I decided that creating my own gluten free flour mixture at home is the best option for me. The flours I picked are millet, teff, sorghum, tapioca, and potato starch.
FloursI found this awesome recipe, which I’ve tweaked only moderately, and I’ll be posting further tweaks as I make them, since I can never leave a good recipe alone!

This is the recipe for 2 loaves, it is easy to make it half for just one!

1 1/2 cups millet flour
1/2 cup teff flour
1 cup sorghum flour
2 cups potato starch
1 cup tapioca flour
4 tsp xanthan gum
1 Tbsp salt
1/2 cup sugar
2 Tbsp active dry yeast

Add:

4 tsp olive oil or grape seed oil
3 1/4 cup warm water (not hot)

a drizzle of honey over the top!

Mix the dry ingredients in an electric mixer with the paddle attachment, or stir by hand. The potato starch is a messy one! The flour can billow up into the air if you’re not careful. You will get a little messy, but that’s sort of the fun. Just go with the flow, and don’t let the number of different flours distress you. Since I’m making it for a 2 year old, I think it’s fun to do some learning about measuring during this, if you’re patient enough. (Honestly, I made this batch while he was napping, but it can be perfect for a teaching moment, too.)
mixerwhat dough looks likeOnce you’ve blended your dry ingredients in your mixer or by hand, it’s time to add the oil and warm water. It’s important that it’s not too hot that it kills the yeast!

Grease your loaf pans next. I like coconut oil. Put half the dough in each loaf pan. I drizzled the top of mine with honey this time as a bonus.

You have to let it rise! I found a new technique that is working for rising bread. Microwave a small amount of water until boiling.  Leave the cup of water in the microwave, and place your bread in there with the door closed for approximately 1 hour. You may have to take out the plate in your microwave to get 2 pans to fit. You can also allow your bread to rise by placing it on a warm surface with a kitchen towel covering it.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Bake uncovered for 10 minutes. Put foil over the top and continue to bake for 45 minutes. Mine is never 100% done yet so I put it in for another 5 minutes uncovered to brown the top a bit. Use a wooden toothpick to determine when it’s done.

Let the bread cool a bit, but it’s most delish while warm out of the oven! I like to use this bread for golden peabutter and jelly sandwiches!
Enjoy!!!
IMG_4646 yum!

Leave a Reply

