Peach Bread

peach bread

A spin on banana bread or applesauce bread. This recipe came out too wet, and I’m posting it because it’s Experiments in Cooking… plus I don’t have any more peaches to try again. The flavor was right, and the kids came back asking for more! If I ever get around to trying this again, I will try one of two things. Either I will drain the peaches more, perhaps in a colander for a while, or I will add more flour ingredients.

The batter in the loaf pan before cooking, looked promising.

IMG_5569

And after. I think it didn’t get much rise because of too much wet ingredients. You can see my peach jam in the background. More on that in my next post!

IMG_3623

Dry Ingredients:
2/3 Cup brown rice flour
2/3 Cup potato starch
1/3 Cup tapioca starch
1 Tablespoon sorghum flour
1/2 Teaspoon xanthan gum
1 Teaspoon baking soda
1 Teaspoon baking powder
1 Teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 Teaspoon sea salt

Wet Ingredients:
1 Cup peach sauce – from my slow cooker directions here
Juice of 1 small lemon
1 Tablespoon flaxmeal soaked in 3 tablespoons rice milk or water
1/2 Cup brown sugar
1 Tablespoon rice milk (may omit in the future)
2 Tablespoons coconut oil, plus more for greasing

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease a loaf pan with coconut oil. Set aside. Combine all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl. In the bowl of an electric mixer, combine all the wet ingredients. Slowly add dry to wet. Pour into prepared loaf pan and bake 50-60 minutes, until a wooden toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Leave a comment